10 Days Till I Run My 1st Half Marathon!


I have exactly 11 days till I run my first half marathon, the Diva Half Marathon in Myrtle Beach. I finished my last practice run on Monday, I planned to run 11 but decided what the heck run the whole 13.1 and get it over with.

My pace was 13:57 in 3 hours 02 minutes, and 1456 calories. This was the longest and hardest run for me. Mile 9 my legs started giving out and 11, 12, and 13 were torture! My last mile I got a cramp in my foot but ill be dam if I stop when I have a mile to go so I skipped, hopped, walked and crawled till I finished 13.1 miles. I’m hoping to cut my time down by 30 mins on race day.

After my practice run I went and bought two bags of ice, for a ice bath,  benefits of a ice bath:

  • Prevents injury.
  • Speeds recovery. According to one report, it is believed to decrease the amount of time needed by the muscles of athletes to return to top condition between training sessions.
  • Keeps muscles limber. One account suggested it would reduce muscle soreness after heavy exertion, such as after snow shoveling.
  • Repairs muscles.
  • Reduces inflammation. But one account disputes there is any benefit in fighting inflammation.
  • Feels good afterwards.
  • Less muscle soreness.
  • Less muscle pain.
  • Less muscle stiffness.

IMG_6965

Can you say COLD!

The next day my body felt great, I definitely wasn’t sore like I usually would be, but I did notice that the  pain in my foot was still bothering me. I found myself limping every where I went and any pressure on my foot hurt. After some research I learned the reason my foot hurt was due to the minimal shoes I run in, Brooks Pure Connects. Don’t get me wrong they are a great shoe, but they can’t handle long distant runs. OK so my foot is killing me and I have a Diva to run in a week! I headed over to my local family Dr. and he gave me a Cortisone (steroid) shot in the bum and some Naproxen for the pain. All I can say is wow, I felt almost nothing! So now I am trying to take it easy for the rest of the week but go to kickball practice.

I ordered a new pair of shoes, the Brooks Pure Flow, I am hoping they come in time so I can break them in..

womens-brooks-pure-flow-white-purple

Wish me luck!

10 thoughts on “10 Days Till I Run My 1st Half Marathon!

  1. You look radiant in your banner photo! Very nice!
    Good luck on your run. I have yet to do a half, but I have heard many runners advise the ice bath! I hope you have a great support team there cheering you on!
    Anne Dovel

    1. Thank you so much Anne! My family wont be there but I have a awesome running group that will be running with me & cheering for me. Also thank you for the compliment!

  2. Congratulations! It takes such strength to do what your doing. I wish you many blessings and I’m going to check back to read about the race.

    A quick tip: If you can get to the health food store before the marathon, pick up a product called Traumeel Cream, it will help your aches and pains in the most unbelievable way. I use it for any and everything from minor muscle, tendon pain to severe injuries. My athletic patients love it and I carry it with me everywhere.

    Good Luck and I can’t wait to see what you teach us after the marathon.

    1. Oh awesome Lisa! I will def find this product even if I have to order it online, thank you so much for your blessings & help. Stay tuned for my recap.. 😉

Leave a Reply

